National Museum (Valletta, Malta)

The National Museum was located at Auberge de Provence and opened in 1958 to house the national fine art and archaeology collections. In 1974 the collection was split to become the National Museum of Archaeology at the Auberge de Provence and the National Museum of Fine Arts at the Admiralty House, both of which would be administered by Heritage Malta. The first curator was Captain Charles G. Zammit, the son of the eminent Maltese archaeologist Sir Themistocles Zammit.

HMML ID
665083865740
PURL
https://w3id.org/haf/organization/665083865740
LC name
National Museum (Valletta, Malta)
HMML name
National Museum (Valletta, Malta)

Variants

  • Mużew Nazzjonali

Organization information

Organization type
Museums
Foundation date
1958
Dissolution date
1974
Centuries
20th century CE
Locations
Countries
Languages
Fields of activity

Organization relationships

Successors

Preferred citation

"National Museum (Valletta, Malta)." HMML Authority File. Hill Museum & Manuscript Library. Last modified November 03, 2021. https://w3id.org/haf/organization/665083865740

Change notes

Date added
2021-11-03
Last edited
2021-11-03

Related concepts

No related concepts

Other formats

Share